Amazing Grace

“And now I`m singing along to amazing grace
Can`t nobody wipe this smile off my face
Got joy in my heart, angles on my side
Thank God almighty, I saw the light
Gonna look ahead, no turning back
live every day, give it all that I have
Trust in someone bigger than me
Ever since the day that I believed I am changed
And now I`m stronger.”

– Carrie Underwood, Something in the Water

We all have something and or someone that we believe in, and we are all entitled to have a different belief. Most of you (my readers) know that I am religious and some of you were not aware of that fact until now. I have shied away from the topic of religion for a long amount of time. Was it for fear of criticism? No. Was it the fear me making my spiritual beliefs known to the public would hurt my number of views? No. When I started this blog almost two years ago, my intentions were to help those who needed the help and didn’t know where to turn. I didn’t want to throw religion down your throats. Religion is something that you find on your own time. Better yet, religion is something that is always there waiting for you to discover it, and sometimes religion finds you. I am not saying that you have to believe that there is a God. I am just saying that there are people who have different believes that get them through the tough their tough times in life. In my post “Skyscraper”, I mentioned that something stopped me from slitting my wrist and had me take another look at myself in that mirror. Until recently I never put the thought into my mind that it was God stopping me and telling me that he has a plan for me and that this is not how he planned for my life to end. Like I mentioned previously I am not trying to shove religion down anyones throat. My church family (yes, I do call the members of my church family) tell me that God has given me a gift and that he has a plan for me. Until recently I never really thought about how I addressed the issue of my faith when I had hit my rock bottom and almost ended my life. It was not a song and or a pop star that saved my life that day. It was my faith in God that saved me. God put me through all that happened because he knew that at the end that I would become stronger. God also put the pop star through some of the same struggles as I and helped her to overcome her obstacles to help others just like her. I was one of those people that God had on her “list” of those of whom she would help in her life. I am one of those people who are not really good at math but I am going to present to you a little of what I believed had happened during my life changing moment. 25% was God telling me to stop, 25% was me actually finding the will to stop, 25% was how God did the some of the same things for Demi Lovato, and the last 25 % was God giving Demi the strength to put her message into a song that just so happened to be the song that I heard a few minutes after I almost committed suicide. When I look at and combine all of those percentages together God was involved 100% of the time. Demi Lovato was just a channel that he used to help me realize my full potential. When I went to the Neon Lights Tour in 2014 Lovato gave a brief speech before she sang Skyscraper. She said that she always has people telling her thank you for saving their lives. She replied back to all of us in that stadium by saying that she didn’t save us, we saved ourselves and that we are so much stronger because of that. I Haven’t just recently discovered my faith in God, it`s just that I saw no point until now to discuss my faith with all of my readers. However, I have realized that my writings are not only speaking to those who are reading, my writing is speaking to myself as well. We all have the freedom to believe in something and or the freedom to believe in nothing. My belief is that there is a God, and that God was there for me when I had hit rock bottom, and that God will always be there for me. I just need to have faith.

“Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound.
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now I am found,
was blind, but now I see.”

Goal: Hold on to whatever you spiritually believe in. Faith (no matter what it is in) makes you stronger. That faith helps you through a variety of hardships that you will encounter in life. Faith. Keep the faith and Stay Strong Warriors, Stay Strong.

Leave a Reply

