What do We Know?

We know what we are, but know not what we may be.

– William Shakespeare

As I am writing this post for you to read, I know that I am a college student.  I know that I have been through a lot.  I know that I am an employee at a fast-food restaurant.  But what I don’t know is my future and that is one of the things that really scares me in life.  When I take the time to sit down and think about where I might be in just the time period of a year, it is scary.  I am not sure where I will be pursuing my bachelors degree, yet alone how I am even going to pay for that education to obtain that degree.  I love my parents to death but I don’t want to live with them for the rest of my life and I know that they don’t want the same.  I don’t even know what kind of career I want to pursue yet.  I just know that I love to help people that is what I am going to school to do.  Those thoughts go through my mind everyday; the problem is that I let those thoughts get me too much.  I lose focus on what is really important.  We all lose focus on what is actually important.  We forget to laugh at the little things in our lives.  I have finally came to the point in my life where I have to stop those thoughts and take a look around me.  I look for those reminders of who I am right here and now.  When I see those things that remind me who I am, I no longer worry about my future for that split second; and I can take a deep breath and relax.  I look at my work uniform hanging in my closest.   The uniform reminds me that we all have to start somewhere and that this job has helped my communication skills with the public.  The photo of my parents and I at my high school graduation remind me that my family is always there for me.  My graduation cap reminds me of how hard I have worked in school to get to where I am now (education wise).  Whenever I arrive on campus for classes a smile spreads across my face because I am reminded that this scholarship was the best opportunity for me.  And when I read the messages of support that I get from all of my viewers I am encouraged to Stay Strong and to continue to inspire others.

Goal:  After reading this post put your electronic device (phone,computer,tablet,etc.) down and look around you.  Shut out the rest of the world.  Forget about tomorrows worries, forget about the stress of trying to make your future better while failing at the same time.  Life is hard, but we can all get through it.  Look for those things that remind you who YOU are Today, because who YOU are Today determines who YOU are Tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

