Unwritten

I am unwritten, can`t read my mind, I`m undefined.  I`m just begging, the pen`s in my hand, ending unplanned.

– Natasha Bedingfield, Unwritten

I know that it has been a while since I have wrote a post, I have just been really busy.  Recently I celebrated my four year anniversary of Staying Strong along with my one year anniversary of my blog; the very one that you are reading right now.  This post is inspired by the song performed by Natasha Bedingfield, Unwritten.  I figured that this was the best way to celebrate both of my anniversaries.  This post is going to include a lot of reflections on my life and I hope to have you make reflections on your lives as well.

It is true; our lives are like a novel and we are the main characters.  We have a begging, a middle, and an end.  The great thing about novels is that they can continue into a series.

Staring at the blank page before you.

Open up the dirty window.

Let the sun illuminate the words that you could not find.

I am aware of the fact that I was a premature baby and I use the fact that I was strong at that point in my life to be strong through anything else that I go through.  If I was not a premature baby I might not be the person that I am today.  I am also proud of the fact that I was the victim of bullying.  When I say that, I am not saying that I enjoyed it; I am saying that I am glad that it is an experience that I went through.  I use that experience as inspiration to keep me going and to help others who went through things just like I did.

Reaching for something in the distance,

so close you can almost taste it.

Release your inhibitions.

Last week I created, hosted, and spoke at a some what big anti-bullying event at Kellogg Community College; the school that I am attending to obtain my Associates in Human Services.  During this event I shared my video (Warrior – My Story) along with sharing my story and encouraging people to not be Bystanders and to be an Upstander and intervene in the bullying.  Even that one small step makes a difference.  I received a lot of support and encouragement from fellow peers and friends that came.  Actually, I was contacted by a local middle school to have me come and speak to their students!

Feel the rain on your skin.

No one else can feel it for you.

Only you can let it in.

No one else, no one else

can speak the words on your lips.

I was nervous when I first got up there behind that podium and shared my story but after that my nervousness went away and I was confident for the three following presentations that I did that day!  I have came to realize that this is my calling.  That I will not let others silent me like I used to when I was being bullied.  I am going to speak the words on my lips because only I know what I want to say and what needs to be said.

Drench yourself in words unspoken.

Live your life with arms wide open.

Today is where your book begins.

The rest is still unwritten.

Goal:  Don’t forget that everything that you went through is just a chapter in your life novel.  A best selling novel at that!  Don’t let anyone silence you.  Believe it or not your novel has just begun to write and remember that the rest is still Unwritten.

Leave a Reply

