Move On…

Bad things do happen; how I respond to them defines my character and the quality of my life.  I can choose to sit in perpetual sadness, immobilized by the gravity of my loss, or I can choose to rise from the pain and treasure the most precious gift I have – life itself.  – Walter Anderson 

Bad things happen to good people every minute as we live out our lives. You spill a cup of coffee on your new shirt while you were walking in the door for work.  That dreaded paper cut when you are only on your first stack of papers to grade for the night.  The kid that shows potential at school but when the kid gets home from school the support is not there to achieve good grades, so why should he/she even try?  The college student who turned in the rough draft of their final paper instead of the revised version.  The little girl that goes home from school crying everyday because she feels that she doesn’t fit in.  When I was going through the bullying that I thought would never end, I never realized that the way that I chose to respond to those situations was what was causing me to feel worse about myself.  However when I look back at my past and what I had to deal with I realize that I am a better person today because of the type of person I was then.  Am I happy that I was bullied? No, and no child should have to go through that pain.  Am I happy that I went through that experience and came out a better person? Yes, and I wouldn’t change that for a million dollars.

Goal:  There will be times when you feel like nothing good is going to happen to/for you.  Stay Strong because you never know that this so called “bad thing” is going to be bad for your future.  Accept all that is going on to you right now, and believe that you will be a better person because of it.

Leave a Reply

