Look at Me

“One day I had to sit down with myself and decide that I loved myself no matter what my body looked like and what other people thought about my body. I got tiered of hating myself.” – Gabourey Sidibe

Too many people look at themselves in their mirrors and are not happy with what they see. Some might ask what makes a person that way? The answer is simple. It is the opinion and view points from that persons loved ones, friends, families and the media that fills them with doubt. I myself am guilty of being the one that looks in the mirror a lot, yes that does make me a hypocrite. I need to practice what I preach, but that is something that is very hard for someone like me to do in this world. Yes my confidence in my skin has risen since I took a stand for myself,m but that doesn’t mean that those cuts are healed (metaphorically speaking). All that remains of those “cuts” are scars. Those scars are there as a reminder that will never go away. I will be forced to think about all of those negative things that were said to and about me when I see my own reflection. The feeling of guilt and shame goes away quickly when I remind myself that I am no longer the same person that I was three years ago. I don’t look like that kid that was picked on left and right. In fact I have grown into a warrior that stays strong no matter what is being thrown at him. I have shed more than a few pounds since I took a stand. I have broke my ties with those who hurt me. My life was turned into something amazing because I started to love myself for the skin that I was in. I loved myself for the person that I was. I love how much I have grown physically and psychologically since I declared war on bullies. So now in the mornings when I look up at the mirror in my bathroom and wipe off the steam something amazing happens. I see a part of me that I will always carry and in doing so it helps me realize how much I have done in the time since and how much I will continue to do in my future.

Goal: Look at yourself in the mirror. Smile. Love your skin. Love your weight, height, birthmark, beauty mark, etc…After all no one can love you till you love your self.

One thought on “Look at Me”

Leave a Reply

