Roar

A lot of people say that if they were the ones that were getting picked on that they would do something about it.  They would also say that people that are being bullied are just encouraging it to continue and that they are dumb for letting it happen to them.  That is where they are wrong.  An example would be when you are watching a horror movie and the girl is getting chased around her house by a psycho.  You the viewer are yelling at the screen saying “Don’t go upstairs you idiot, go for the front door and get out of the house!”.  Although we know when something similar to that would happen to the viewer he/she might freeze and do nothing.  That same scenario ties into being bullied (not the masked psycho part, the I would do this part). I want to help you get into the midpoint of a bullying victim for a while.  Maybe then some might actually get that it is easier said than done.  Katy Perry`s song Roar is used as the inspiration for this post.

I used to bite my tongue and hold my breath.  Scared to rock the boat and make a mess.  So I sat quietly, agree politely.

When the bullying first started, I would speak out against it and stand up for myself.  As the bullying progressed I found that my standing up for myself only made matters worse.  So I decided to keep my mouth shut in fear of adding fuel to the flames. I also started to agree with what they were saying about me.  In doing so my self esteem level hit rock bottom.

I guess I forgot that I had a choice.  I let you push me past the breaking point.  I stood for nothing, so I fell for everything.

I pushed aside the fact that I had a voice in the matter.  Mostly because I was tiered and felt like I was fighting a never-ending battle.  I had no idea who I was as a person, I was only a little kid.  I fell for everything I was told.  I made what I thought were friends and to find out that they were picking on me behind my back.  I finally reached my breaking point.  I was fed up with everything that was happening to me.  I didn’t want to be alive anymore.

You held me down, but I got up.  Already brushing off the dust.

The day that I almost ended my life was a day that changed my life forever.  I picked myself up off that floor and dusted myself off and was ready to take on all of my problems.

You hear my voice, you hear that sound.  Like thunder, gonna shake the ground.

I eventually found my voice and started to stand up for myself and others.  What I was doing might have seemed dumb to those that bullied me.  While I was standing up for myself a tremendous amount of weight was lifted off of my shoulders and I felt amazing.  I was no longer a victim, I was an ally.

You held me down, but I got up.  Get ready `cause I`ve had enough.

There were moments where I let myself fall back down, but I got right back up, stayed strong and continued my journey.  I got up because I decided that enough was enough and that this wasn’t a problem that was only affecting me, there are more people out there just like me that need help.

I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire.  `Cause I am a champion and you`re gonna hear me roar.  Louder, louder than a lion.

Something happened that none of the bullies expected would.  I became a person, I had a voice, I did not listen to them anymore, I became the complete opposite of what I once was.

Now I`m floating like a butterfly.  Stinging like a bee, I earned my stripes.  I went from zero, to my own hero.

I lost all of my chubbiness and became thin they could no longer pick on my weight.  I went from being quite and became loving, caring, and happy.  I went from failing all my classes to becoming the one that got asked for help by the ones that picked on me.  I earned the dignity that I built up for myself.  I earned everything that has happened to me since I`ve stood up for myself and others.  I am no longer a nobody, I am my own hero along with being a few others hero as well.

One thought on “Roar”

Leave a Reply

