My Story 4.0

Stand up to your obstacles and do something about them.  You will find that they haven’t half the strength you think they have.  – Norman Vincent Peale 

I remember a time when I was in fourth grade and I stood up to a bully.  The event took place on the school playground, which is the “breeding ground” for bullying to happen.  A fellow peer of mine was started to pick on me, I guess I was in the mood to stand up for myself that day.  I turned around and said “Bullies are nothing but cowards.”  The kid was stunned with the fact that I said that to him.  So stunned that he started to get mad, he asked me to repeat what I just said to him.  So I repeated myself “Bullies are nothing but cowards.”  I said it in a way that scared me because I was actually standing up for myself.  I started to see the kids eye twitch and his fists started to ball up.  I knew something was going to happen, something did happen.  He ran towards me and started punching me, I tried to get a punch in when I could.  A parapro eventually came and broke the fight up.  The kid was suspended from school for a couple of days.  Here`s the kicker, I was suspended for a day.  I was told that I was being suspended only to make it fair to the other student that was involved.  I guess that was one of the things that led to me being so defenseless of myself in the future.  I thought that I did something wrong because I was being punished, and the message was a mixed message to send to a child who was standing up for himself.  Looking back at it now, I realize that I am stronger because of it.

Goal:  Stand up for yourself and others no matter the situation.  Don’t just sit there and let it happen. Be the change.  You will feel amazing for doing it, trust me.

Leave a Reply

